The Thrill Up My Leg

 

I’ve suffered a great many catastrophes in my life. Most of them never happened.                                                                                                             Mark Twain

I’m sure that MSNBC news commentator Chris Matthews didn’t count on getting teased so much after having used the words thrill up his leg when referring back in 2007 to his unabashed enthusiasm for the current US President. However, sometimes words used in specific contexts, at a certain moment in time, and mixed together with other seemingly unrelated ingredients can come together and ignite something in the collective conscious. An expression is born and becomes part of the urban dictionary.

Then, gradually, the cluster of words sticks in the minds of individuals, tucked away somewhere only to reappear in an altered form, and in a different set of circumstances. It morphs into something else but, because of its catchy nature, still seems just the right fit at a particular moment in time and given a new, particular set of circumstances.

Such a thing happened to me just this morning when the expression thrill up my leg popped into my mind. As I watched myself stretch out my right leg, I became aware of the gap, the space between my thoughts.

Wow!” I thought.

That’s me… I am that.”

What in the world do I mean by that? Well, I mean that I am that, as opposed to the leg that my eyes were witnessing, or the body to which it belongs, or the thoughts that I might have had at any moment in time. I am the space that is between my thoughts. The moment was nothing less than thrilling. And then expression thrill up my leg came to my mind.

We all are that. And, the more we practice mindfulness, the more spacious we become. The more spacious we become, the more we live with the understanding that we are aware. We are awareness–infinite awareness–and not the leg, the body, the thoughts, the story that we tell ourselves we are, or the stories that others have told us, do tell us, or will tell us.

Leave a Reply

